It’s disgusting that 80% of our community say that they have been forced to change there plans because of poor access to venues and public transport

As a member of the disabled community I find it completely disgusting yet unsurprising that 80% of our community have felt forced into changing there plans with friends and family because of poor access to venues and public transport.

The disabled access charity Euan’s guide who conducted the survey last year have completed access reviews on hundreds of venues across the United Kingdom since their conception in 2013.

I am a wheelchair user and disabled rights campaigner living in the West Midlands and have faced my own access issues both where I live in Herefordshire and the wider region, so understand our communities frustrations when it comes to these issues.

However in my experience it isn’t just access to public transport and venues that hamper our independence on a day to day basis. I have spent the last 5 years working with organisations like Herefordshire Council & West Midlands Trains to help them improve access where it is required the most.

I successfully took on Herefordshire Council in 2022 and forced them to install 16 pairs of dropped kerbs on 2 of Hereford’s busiest roads, after a four year battle to engage with them about the issue.

I then turned my attention to West Midlands Trains and helping them to improve the service that they offer to disabled football supporters on match-days. I achieved by sending a number of letters and emails to the organisation before being given the chance to meet with them on a couple of occasion’s to discuss the issue.

I am disappointed that I felt forced to campaign for what I believe in on behalf of myself and others who are facing the same or similar challenges. I totally stand by the 80% of those who responded to the survey because they were speaking out for members of our community who can’t.

There are plenty of shops and restaurants across Herefordshire that aren’t accessible to those with mobility issues and half the time the business doesn’t even realise this, which is something that I find very disappointing.

A few years ago whilst going out for a family celebration I fell victim of an inaccessible venue despite being told that the venue was wheelchair accessible which ruined the celebration.

My message to all venues across our beautiful county is a simple one and is this, please look at your venues accessibility and how it can be improved for those who have mobility issues or access requirements.

These improvements would limit the amount of distress and heartache that would be caused to those who cannot just step into your establishment as and when we choose to do so.

If any establishment in Herefordshire would like me to support them with advice on accessibility matters I am more than willing to work with them so that their venue is completely accessible to all.

It was shocking to see that 91% of those who responded to the survey said that they try to find disabled access information prior to visiting a new venue, 76% of those who responded also said that they have found information on the venues website to be misleading.

However 86% of those who were surveyed said that they check a venues website prior to visiting it for the first time, However 79% went onto say that they had experienced a disappointing visit to the establishment or had to change there plans because of poor accessibility.

59% of those who were questioned as part of the survey said that if a venue fails to share there access information they will avoid visiting it because they would assume that is inaccessible.

I would like to thank Herefordshire Council and West Midlands Trains for acting on my concerns swiftly once they had been raised even if it did take a number of months or years for them to listen properly.

If you enjoyed reading this afternoons blog and would like to read more from me than why not sign up to my blog here: https://cameronwooddotblog.wordpress.com/

I would like to take this opportunity to thank each and everyone of you my readers and followers for taking the time out of your busy schedules to read my latest blog.

Cam

Leave a comment