What the F***k is wrong with you, think before you park it is simple.

I am consistently trying to find a way to get around vehicles that have parked on pavements across the county.

I was out and about in Hereford this morning (Wednesday 24th of January) when I came across some shocking pavement parking that I was unable to negative around in my wheelchair.

I was left with no other choice but to double back on myself in the direction that I had come from to find the next available dropped kerb to get around the obstruction.

I am f***ing fed up of coming face to face with this issue because it is happening on just about a weekly basis at the moment.

I shouldn’t have to risk my safety when going about my daily business on the counties pavement network, it is really not fair.

I believe that the residents of our beautiful county should take an extra 30 seconds or so whilst trying to find somewhere to park, that is safe for all not just them.

The cabinet members for Roads, Regulatory Services and Transport/Infrastructure at Herefordshire Council need to work together to ensure that this issue isn’t allowed to get any worse.

I have a simple message for councillors Durkin and Price which is this, please take some time in the coming months to meet with me and this discuss this issue.

I am also disappointed to discover that only a tiny faction of motorists understand the laws surrounding pavement parking.

Vehicles being parked on the pavement network is only currently illegal in the capital, London.

The Highway Code is a little different when it comes to parking on the pavement outside of England’s capital.

There is a rule numbered 242 in the Highway Code that states drivers must not leave their vehicle or trailer in a dangerous position where it causes any unnecessary obstruction to the road or pavement network.

The above rule from the Highway Code needs to start being enforced on a more regular basis by officers from the county council.

I believe that officers from the council need to change there approach to this issue before a wheelchair or mobility scooter user is either killed or seriously injured on one of Herefordshire’s roads

I recognise that this is a short and to the point piece on an issue that affects us all at some point in our lives.

if you enjoyed reading my second post of the week then why not subscribe and receive them direct to your inbox, minutes after they have been published.

Subscribe to my blog here: https://cameronwooddotblog.wordpress.com/.

I would like to again thank each and everyone of you, my readers and followers for taking the time out of your busy schedules for the second time this week to read this post.

Cam

Leave a comment