Wheeling on to the famous cobbles of Coronation Street

I wheeled onto the famous cobbles of Coronation Street in Manchester yeasterday afternoon (Sunday the 1st of October, 2023).

Outside ITV studios in Manchester

I have watched Coronation Street for as long as I can remember so this was a dream come true for me.

It was an honour to follow in the footsteps of Herefordshire’s very own Melissa Johns who played Imogen Pascoe, the love interest of Kate Connor (Faye Brooke’s) from September 2017 until the July of 2019.

I was desperate to visit the set of the shows Bistro as this was where Melissa filmed her first scene as Imogen with Co-stars Faye Brooke’s and Bhavna Limbachia who played Rana Habeeb in the soap from February 2016 until she was killed off in March 2019.

The first and second sets that I wheeled outside of were the police station & the precinct.

Weatherfield Police Station
The Weatherfield Precinct

The third stop of our tour of the street was to the tram stop “ Weatherfield North”.

Weatherfield North Tram Stop

I then wheeled past Speed Daal the street’s Pakistani restaurant that is owned by Yasmeen Nazir, who is played by Shelly King.

Speed Daal

I then wheeled down the street to outside Shuttleworths, the streets funeral directors.

The Funeral Directors, Shuttleworth’s

I then had the opportunity to wheel along the cobbles outside Victoria Court, the streets block of flats which is home to some of the residents.

The Victoria Court Flats

It was then time to visit the street’s community centre “Victoria Street Community Centre” which was set up by Yasmeen Nazir (Shelly King).

The Victoria Street Community Centre

I then headed next door and wheeled past the set of the street’s cafe “ Roy’s Roll’s” which was an very interesting experience.

Outside Roy’s Roll’s cafe
Inside Roy’s Roll’s Cafe

At the end of that part of the set is the kabab shop which is managed by Chesney Winter-Brown, who is played by Sam Austin.

The Kabab Shop

I headed around the corner to Preston’s Petals, the streets florist which is ran by Tracey Barlow who is played by Kate Ford.

Preston’s Petal’s

It was then time to have a picture taken outside the set of Audrey’s Hair Salon which can be found just around the corner from the Kabab shop

Audrey’s Hair Salon

I then graced the pavement outside of the Rovers Return which is managed by Jenny Connor, who’s played by Sally Ann Matthews.

Outside The Rover’s Return
Inside The Rovers Return

It was time to head down the street visit the outside of “Underworld” the soaps knicker factory that is ran by Carla Connor (Alison King) and serial killer Stephen Reid, who is played by Todd Boyce.

Underworld Knicker Factory

The Kabin was the next stop on my tour of the street which is where Rita Tanner works who is played by Corrie legend, Barbara Knox.

The Kabin Newsagents

It was then time to head next door and visit Websters Auto Centre which is the street’s garage that is run by Kevin Webster, his wife Abby and there business partner, Tyrone Dobbs.

Websters Auto Centre

Aston’s wheels then touched the cobbles outside the set of D&S Alahan’s Corner Shop which is ran by Dev Alahan, who is played by Jimmi Harkishin.

Jimmi visited Hereward College in Coventry where I studied to open the college shop , Indigo in January 2010.

D&S Alahan’s Corner Shop

The final stop on my tour of the famous cobbles was to the Bistro and this was something that I was really excited about.

The Viaduct Bistro

The set is completely accessible to those who use wheelchairs, mobility scooters and other walking aids because it is a working tv set.

However if you are a wheelchair user taking the tour I would be prepared to go on a rollercoaster because of the cobbled street, that you will navigate, despite this I absolutely loved visiting the set of the nation’s favourite soap.

I would strongly recommend that fans of the show visit the set of the nation’s favourite street as it will allow you to make memories of a life time.

I still can’t believe that I booked the Coronation Street tour on the same weekend that the Prime Minister, Rishi Sunak was in Manchester for the Conservative Party Conference.

I know that this quite a long blog with a lot of images but I really wanted share my experiences of visiting the nation’s favourite cobbles with you , my readers and followers.

If you would like to receive my blogs direct to your inbox once they have been published, subscribe here: https://cameronwooddotblog.wordpress.com/.

I would like to end in my normal way by taking the opportunity to thank each and everyone of you, my readers and followers for taking the time out of your busy schedules each week to read my blogs.

Cam

Leave a comment