Getting lost on the London Underground whilst travelling across the capital as a wheelchair user.

I travelled from Hereford to Kent yesterday (Thursday the 24th of August, 2023).

The 10:04 service from Newport (South Wales) was delayed getting into London Paddington meaning that I missed my London Underground connection.

When I arrived at Paddington tube station I figured out that I needed to be on the tube to Barking which would stop at Kings Cross, St Pancras so I boarded the next available service.

I accidentally boarded a tube to Hammersmith so ended up travelling in the completely wrong direction across London.

When I arrived at Hammersmith tube station I spoke to a very nice gentleman who helped me board the right train and arranged for someone to assist me off the tube when I arrived at St Pancras.

This was the first time that I had used the London Underground independently so I’m proud of myself for what I achieved yesterday.

The tube from Paddington to St Pancras should have taken only 10 minutes instead of nearly 25 that the journey lasted.

I am really excited to use the underground once again when I return to Hereford on Sunday (27th August 2023).

I feel more prepared for the return journey because i shouldn’t end up on the wrong tube.

I know that this is a very short blog but I wanted to share my first sole experience of using the underground in London as a wheelchair user.

If you like to receive my blogs direct to your inbox once they have been published, subscribe here: https://cameronwooddotblog.wordpress.com/

I would like to end in my normal way taking the opportunity to thank all of my readers and followers for taking the time out of your busy schedules to read my latest blog.

Cam

Leave a comment