The panic I experienced when I found out that direct trains from London to Hereford are cancelled for weeks as a wheelchair user.

It was announced that direct train services from London to Hereford are being cancelled for several weeks earlier this morning (Thursday 6th of April).

This news comes hours before I’m due to jump on a train to London and cheer on the England lionesses at Wembley this evening.

I’m due to be heading home back to Hereford tomorrow morning (Friday 7th of April) but that journey could be an utter nightmare following this news.

It’s not that easy for those requiring assistance to amend there journey’s at short notice because stations have already put plans in place to assist you in travelling around the rail network.

I am unsure if I will be able to change my journey plans for tomorrow at this short notice so tomorrow could be fun tomorrow.

Wheelchair users who see the rail network has there life line shouldn’t have to experience this kind of panic just hours before they travel.

If I had to give a message to network rail then it would be this, when you are making temporary changes to routes for maintenance work please consider the disabled community and the issues that we might face.

All other rail passengers are able to just jump on an alternative service when issues like this arise – I wish it could be the same for the disabled community.

I am not looking forward to travelling from Paddington in the morning because I’m scared about what I might experience.

In the meantime I’m excited to be heading back to Wembley in a the next few hours to watch the England lionesses take on Brazil.

I will be releasing a blog on Monday about what it was like returning to Wembley for the first time since 2021.

I know that this is another very short blog but I wanted to share my thoughts about the fact I am being forced to change my travel plans with hours until I travel.

I would like to end by taking the opportunity to thank all of my readers and followers for taking the time out of your busy schedules to read my latest blog.

Cam

Leave a comment